Matthew Murphy in Connacht Eagles Squad to face Ulster

   09 Oct 2015

Eagles team to face Ulster Ravens
09th October 2015

Head Coach Nigel Carolan has named his Connacht Eagles side, sponsored by NUI Galway, to play Ulster Ravens tomorrow at Deramore Park in Belfast (kick off 5pm).

In the opening game of the season for the Eagles, Galway man Sean O’Brien will captain the side from a back row with his fellow Academy players Rory Moloney and Steve McVeigh.

After making his season debut from the bench last week and touching down in the bonus point win over Cardiff Blues, veteran lock Aly Muldowney will have a chance for more game time ahead of the gruelling 16-match run in the PRO12 and European Challenge Cup.

Tighthead prop Jason East is brought up from Galwegians RFC, following their emphatic bonus point win over Division 1A champions Lansdowne RFC in the Ulster Bank League last weekend. The remainder of the pack is made up of Connacht Academy players.

In the backline, senior players Darragh Leader and Niyi Adeolokun both return from injury to start

and Ireland under-20’s wing Ciaran Gaffney completes the back three.

Conor McKeon and Ian Porter make up the half back pairing while new Academy recruit Cormac Brennan is partnered by Peter Robb in the centre.

The Eagles’ first home game of the season will see Munster ‘A’ visit the Sportsground for a 5pm kick off on Thursday October 22nd. The British & Irish Cup competition will kick off with a home game against Newport Gwent Dragons Select on Saturday November 14th, kick off 2:30pm.

Click here for a full list of Eagles’ fixtures.

Connacht Eagles team to play Ulster Ravens, Saturday October 10th, Deramore Park, 5pm:

15 Darragh Leader
14 Ciaran Gaffney
13 Cormac Brennan
12 Peter Robb
11 Niyi Adeolokun
10 Conor McKeon
 9 Ian Porter

1 Jacob Walshe
2 Jack Dinneen
3 Jason East

4 Cian Romaine
5 Aly Muldowney
6 Steve McVeigh
7 Rory Moloney
8 Sean O’Brien (captain)


16 Pat O’Toole
17 Matthew Murphy
18 Conor Kenny
19 Peter Claffey
20 Marc Kelly
21 Caolin Blade
22 Aidan Moynihan
23 Ed O’Keeffe
24 Cillian Gallagher